Judging process

Judging process

The World Social Media Awards Winners and Finalists are selected from the entries received during the Entry period. 

How entries are judged

The WSMA’s are the first and only global social media awards ceremony in the world to analyze each entry based on the same metrics data generated by the world’s leading social platforms. No judges, no opinions. Just data.

The criteria for each category is as follows:

Facebook Likes
Instagram Followers
Linkedin Followers
Pinterest Followers
Twitter Followers
VK Followers
Weibo Followers
Youtube Subscribers

Sector categories are judged by the aggregate total of each entries’ primary social channel on each platform. Where the primary channel is unclear the largest social channel on each platform will be counted.
The five entries with the highest score in each awards category will be published on the WSMA website as Finalists. All Finalist entries are eligible to display the WSMA Finalist brand mark.

Judging foreign language entries

The WSMA accepts entries in any language. Because our judging criteria is based on the industry standard metrics that have been adopted by each social media platform there is no need for any normalisation. 

Selecting winners

WSMA will analyze the shortlisted entries 24 hours before the WSMA Awards ceremony. The finalist with the highest score in each awards category will be announced as the winner. 


The WSMA’s rely on publicly available, industry standard measurement metric for each social media platform category. While we will aim to report any known or declared issues to the appropriate authority we rely on the social media platforms to ensure the integrity and quality of this data and cannot be liable or responsible for any errors, issues, damage if this is not the case.